About Kenya


Kenya is a country that is found in East Africa. Kenya has a presidential system of democracy and the country is divided into 47 administrative units called Counties. Nairobi is the country’s capital city. Kenya has a population of about 47 million people and a national census is expected to be conducted in late 2019 to determine how much the population has increased after the last census that was done ten years ago. The landmass covers over 585,000 km2 with large arable land, albeit with warm and dry northern parts of the country inhabited mostly by pastoralist communities.

Kenya is a beautiful landscape with several touristic attractions which make it one of the few places in Africa with the largest number of visitors who partake of the safari treks. Aside of tourism, which generates huge revenues for the country, coffee and tea are also great contributors to the country’s economic mainstay.


H.E Dr. William Samoei Ruto, C.G.H.,
President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces.

Kenya and Nigeria have enjoyed cordial diplomatic relations since the two countries attained independence at different times in history. Kenya opened its diplomatic Mission in Nigeria in the year 1972. The Mission was then located in Lagos, the former capital city of Nigeria. In 2003, the Government of Kenya (GoK) moved its High Commission to Abuja, after the Federal Government of Nigeria (FGN) decided to relocate its administrative capital from Lagos. The Kenya High Commission remained in Maitama Area of Abuja before the GoK constructed a Chancery on land that was allocated by the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the present location of the offices.
The Kenya High Commission in Abuja, Nigeria, was officially opened on 14th July, 2013 by H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta following the completion of the Chancery Building in 2012. The offices are located in the Central Business District along Diplomatic Drive, on part of land, which was allocated by the Nigerian Government for the construction of Diplomatic Missions and Embassies by various governments.